The Frog and Firkin

The Frog and Firkin (website, Twitter)
4854 Yonge Street, Toronto ON M2N 5N2 (on the west side, between Elmhurst Street and Harlandale Street, the nearest major intersection is Yonge Street and Sheppard Avenue) 416-225-3764
Google Maps

A decent pub in one of the villages north of the #401. 

I’ve been to the Frog and Firkin a number of times over the years as a friend had a party there upstairs one year and it’s close to the Toronto Centre for the Arts. It’s also close to Gibson House, which is one of my favourite historical houses in Toronto. Given its relatively unhip location, I was not surprised to see that the Frog and Firkin was populated by mostly older people, a number of which were regulars (apparently there has been a pub there for several decades).

Save the numerous televisions, the Frog and Firkin is lovely, with a rather dark interior and lots of red velvet lined booths, which makes it ideal for smaller groups and couples, but not so much for larger groups. One picture they have, which I love, shows the comparative reigns of English and British monarchs as columns representing the various lengths. The same poster hung in a pub I used to frequent back in Ottawa. The pub has an upstairs that is accessible from the street, so keep that in mind as it can be a little confusing if you go in the wrong door.

Number of visits by yours truly: my fourth or fifth visit, most recently on a weekday evening in May 2012
TTC information: just a block north of Yonge-Sheppard Station
Booze selection: about a dozen or so, including Magners cider on tap and Strongbow in cans (no Pimm’s)
Food selection: standard pub grub with lots of sandwiches and wraps
Service staff: quick for a Firkin pub
Prices: standard
Toilets: okay (apparently, the downstairs is haunted, alas I sensed nothing when I went to the toilets, but I was probably preoccupied)
Patio: apparently they have a patio, but in my clandestine investigations I didn’t find one. I am guessing it’s at the back and accessible from the top floor, so it’s west-facing. Perhaps I will have to amend my review at some point
Wheelchair accessible: as the toilets are downstairs and there isn’t a lot of room, I’ll say no
Televisions: nine televisions from where I was sitting. Nine!
Live music: I don’t think so, the layout isn’t conducive
Piped-in music: the only song I recognised was Sinéad O’Connor’s version ofI Am Stretched on Your Grave”

Rating: four pints (out of five)

Please Leave a Reply

